Design Awards Submission

We encourage individuals and firms to submit to our annual awards program. Awardees are regularly shared with local, national, and international media outlets and kept on file at AIASF for a minimum of one year. In the past, writers and editors from Architectural Record, Dwell, Sunset, San Francisco, San Francisco Chronicle, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and the Design Within Reach catalog, among others, have used our submissions when seeking talent and stories on Bay Area design. In addition, all San Francisco-based residential projects are considered for inclusion in the annual San Francisco Living: Home Tours weekend in September.

The call for submissions to the 2021 program will go out at the end of the 2020 calendar year, with a submission deadline in the early spring of 2021.

How to Submit

Please submit your project directly through the AIASF awards portal on Submittable; you will need to sign in with a Submittable account to access the portal. If you do not already have a Submittable login, you can create one at the portal. The 2020 submission process has ended. Submissions to the 2021 program will be accepted from the end of 2020 until the deadline in early spring of 2021.

Submit Here

Awards Briefs

The Design Awards submission is structured into main categories and optional concentrations. In addition to the design awards given in each main category – ArchitectureInterior Architecture, and Unbuilt Design – the jury may also choose to recognize projects that exhibit special achievements in three concentrations, giving special acknowledgement to projects that further encompass the values of good design within the context of historic preservationurban design, and social responsibility.

With this format we hope to demonstrate that all of these disciplines explored collectively, rather than independently, strengthen the overall power and scope of architecture to help shape the built environment and enrich the human spirit.

In recognition of the importance of sustainable design, AIASF instituted a separate award category for energy and sustainability in 2003. In the last several years, the profession as a whole has transformed the way it designs, builds, and maintains buildings. The Design Awards program now incorporates the fulfillment of sustainable design principles into all categories.

Architecture Award
Interior Architecture Award
Unbuilt Design Award

Entry Fees

Entry fees are non-refundable. Submissions must be fully completed and entered on or before the Early Submission Deadline in order to qualify for the discounted submission fees rates.

Early Deadline: February 5, 2020 at 1:00 pm (PST)
$225 AIASF Member Submission | $415 General Submission | $5 for Full-Time Architectural and Design Students (with ID)

Final Deadline: February 26, 2020 at 1:00 pm (PST)
$275 AIASF Member Submission | $465 General Submission | $40 for Full-Time Architectural and Design Students (with ID)

Financial hardship fee waiver available in the Unbuilt category. Fee Waiver Request Form.

Redeem AXP Credit Hours

AXP candidates can receive credit hours for design competition entries. Candidates should fill out the Design Awards Verification form. This form is to certify that the AIASF Design Awards program meets the requirements of completing a design competition for AXP credit as defined in the AXP Guidelines.

For information on AXP Experience reporting, visit NCARB's AXP Guidelines.

AIA California and AIA National Award Programs

Visit the following websites for more information on state-wide and national design award programs:


Have a question about your eligibility or the submission process? View our most frequently asked questions or email Karsen Maruca, Program Manager.