Loading Events
  • 2019 AIASF Community Alliance Awards Luncheon

    << All Events

    2019 AIASF Community Alliance Awards Luncheon

    Thursday, December 5, 2019 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm PST

    Join us in celebrating the mission driven accomplishments of our award recipients and the nonprofit community to make San Francisco a beautiful, affordable and resilient city for everyone! On December 5, The Center and AIASF are excited to partner with Autodesk to host the Community Alliance Awards Luncheon. Together, with the support and participation of all citizens, we work to strengthen the future of our built environment!


    About the Awards Program

    Center for Architecture + Design and AIA San Francisco’s Community Alliance Awards program honors the individuals, firms, and organizations whose overall work, leadership, and dedication shape the character and vibrancy of our communities and the future of our built environment.

    In recognition of their contributions to the advancement and enrichment of the quality of life in the Bay Area through their commitment to design excellence, the Center and AIASF strive to acknowledge these extraordinary individuals and organizations for their service to the Chapter, to the community, and to the profession. Their continued efforts to engage, educate, collaborate, and advocate elevates the value of design and its impact on the experiences of our daily lives.


    2019 Awardees

    Alliance Award

    Fay Darmawi, SF Urban Film Fest
    Public Knowledge

    Chapter Service Award

    Tom Brutting, FAIA, HKIT Architects
    Karin Payson, AIA, Karin Payson architecture + design
    Michael Robbins, AIA, Studio Robbins Cortina

    Citizen Architect Award

    Edgar Lopez, AIA, San Francisco Public Works 

    Education Award

    Shalini Agrawal, California College of the Arts
    Irene Cheng, California College of the Arts 

    Emerging Professional Award

    Samantha Buckley, Gensler
    Anand Sheth, AIA, Studio BBA

    Firm Achievement Award

    SITELAB urban studio

    Local Government Award

    Jeff Joslin, San Francisco Planning Department

    Mentor Award

    Catherine Barner, Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy
    Cathy Simon, FAIACathy Simon FAIA Architecture and Urbanism

    Revitalization Award


    Social Impact Award

    West Oakland Environmental Indicators Project

    The 826 Build Team
    VP Consulting SF

    Student Award 

    “The Remittance City: Reallocating Resources in Manila’s Living Cemeteries”
    by Allison Foronda, M.Arch, California College of the Arts
    Kenta Oye, Academy of Art University School of Architecture


    2019 Community Alliance Awards Sponsors





    Venue Sponsor


    Media Partner



    Click here for information on Sponsorship and Benefits.

    Pricing and Registration

    • AIASF Member: $100
    • General Admission: $125
    • AIASF Student Member: $50

    If you have not already done so, please create an account on the aiasf.org website here (you will need this to sign up for all AIA events); AIASF members will automatically have a profile on the AIASF website. You do not need to be an AIA member to register with the website or to attend events – everyone is welcome. While logged into your account, complete your registration by clicking the “register” button at the top right of this page.

    If you have any difficulties creating a profile on the AIASF website, logging in, or registering for an event, please contact the AIASF reception at info@aiasf.org.

    Registration for AIA San Francisco and Center for Architecture + Design events constitutes your agreement to the use of you and your guest(s) image or voice in event-related digital and print reproductions (photo/video/etc). If you do NOT agree, email info@aiasf.org.



    2018 Awardees

    Alliance Award

    Community Arts Stabilization Trust

    San Francisco Department of the Environment

    Chapter Service Award

    Ed Ong, FAIA
    Joel Tomei, FAIA

    Citizen Architect

    David Meckel, FAIA, California College of the Arts

    Education Award

    Center for Art and Public Life, California College of the Arts

    Sandra Vivanco, AIA SEED, California College of the Arts

    Emerging Professional Award

    Je’Nen Chastain, Assoc. AIA, Heller Manus

    Amélie-Phaine Crowe, Assoc. AIA, DLR Group | Kwan Henmi

    Firm Achievement Award

    David Baker Architects

    Local Government Award

    Robin Abad Ocubillo, San Francisco Planning Department
    Phil Ginsburg, San Francisco Recreation and Park Department

    Mentor Award

    Prescott Reavis, Asian Neighborhood Design

    Revitalization Award

    826 Valencia

    Bayview Opera House

    FOR-SITE Foundation

    Social Impact Award

    Asian Neighborhood Design

    La Cocina

    Donald Falk, Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Center


    2018 Sponsors Upcoming

    Bronze Level





    Share This Event


    Thursday, December 5, 2019
    12:00 pm - 2:00 pm PST