

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Jennifer Jones, AIASF Executive Director

PH: +1 415 874 2628 EMAIL: <u>jiones@aiasf.org</u>

AIA San Francisco Announces the Honorees of Its 2017 Design Awards Program

(SAN FRANCISCO, CA) April 17, 2017 | The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIASF) announce the winners of the 2017 AIASF Design Awards program on Tuesday, April 17 at the Herbst Theatre, San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center. Master of Ceremonies was be John King, San Francisco Chronicle's urban design critic.

"AIASF has so many talented design firms that, each year, the jury has their work cut out for them, and this year was no exception," says AIASF 2017 President Paul Cooper, AIA. "Our



warmest congratulations to all honorees, and thank you to everyone who submitted and made this year's awards program another success."

In existence for nearly half a century, AIA San Francisco's Design Awards program recognizes the outstanding achievements in architecture and design of Bay Area individuals and organizations as well as celebrates the distinguished work of architects and related professionals from afar who contribute to the framework of our local built environment. The program serves to inform the public of the breadth and value of architectural practice.

"AIASF received over 200 submissions, featuring a wide spectrum of projects from across the globe," AIASF Executive Director Jennifer Jones, CAE, commented. "Each project is uniquely intriguing and inspiring; it is an honor for our chapter to recognize and celebrate the creative and innovative work of our talented local design community."

The Design Awards submission is structured into main categories and optional concentrations. In addition to the design awards given in each main category – Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Unbuilt Design – the jury may also choose to recognize projects that exhibit special achievements in three concentrations, giving special acknowledgement to projects that further encompass the values of good design within the context of historic preservation and and social responsibility.

The 2017 AIASF Design Awards program was juried in Portland, Oregon, in partnership with AIA Portland. This year's jury was Brian Cavanaugh, AIA, Architecture Building Culture; Amy Donohue, AIA, Bora Architects; Joann Le, AIA, DAO; Thomas F. Robinson, AIA, LEVER Architecture; Carrie Strickland, AIA, Works Progress Architecture.

The 2017 AIASF Design Award Honorees are featured online at www.aiasf.org/award. Projects are included in a print publication available at the AIASF office and will be showcased in an upcoming exhibition on view at the AIA San Francisco gallery.



FULL LIST OF AIASF 2017 DESIGN AWARDS RECIPIENTS

#	CATEGORY	AWARD	PROJECT	ARCHITECTURE
1	Architecture	Honor	Center For Jewish LifelDrexel University	Stanley Saitowitzl Natoma Architects Inc
2	Architecture	Honor	Forest<>House	envelope A+D
3	Architecture	Merit	Minnesota Street Project	Jensen Architects Inc.
4	Architecture	Merit	Manetti Shrem Museum of Art	Bohlin Cywinski Jackson and SO-IL
5	Architecture	Merit	The New United States Courthouse -	Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
			Los Angeles	
6	Architecture	Merit	Chico State Arts & Humanities Building	WRNS Studio
7	Architecture	Citation	A-to-Z House	SAW // Spiegel Aihara Workshop
8	Architecture	Citation	Camp Baird	Malcolm Davis Architecture
9	Architecture	Citation	US Coast Guard Waste Water Treatment Facility	Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects
10	Architecture	Citation	Quintessa Pavilions	Walker Warner Architects
11	Interior Architecture	Honor	Pinterest HQ	IwamotoScott Architecture with Brereton Architects
12	Interior Architecture	Merit, Special Commendation in Historic Preservation	Diane B. Wilsey Center for Opera	Mark Cavagnero Associates
13	Interior Architecture	Merit, Special Commendation Social Responsibility	Technology Innovation Training Center	Mithun
14	Interior Architecture	Merit	Redpoint Ventures	IwamotoScott Architecture
15	Interior Architecture	Citation	Vortex	Ogrydziak/Prillinger
16	Unbuilt Award	Citation	The BayArc	Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
17	Special Recognition	Art + Furniture	301 Howard Street Lobby Repositioning and Design	Huntsman Architectural Group
18	Special Recognition	Furniture	Square, Inc. Headquarters	Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
19	Special Commendation	Social Responsibility	826 Valencia Tenderloin Center	INTERSTICE Architects Inc.; Jonas Kellner; MK Think
20	Special Commendation	Historic Preservation	Apple Store, Upper East Side	Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
21	Special Commendation	Historic Preservation	Alamo Square Residence	Jensen Architects Inc.

###

Serving the Bay Area for more than a century, the American Institute of Architects, San Francisco Chapter, one of the largest of the AIA's nearly 300 chapters, represents more than 2,000 members in San Francisco and Marin County. As a resource for our members and the general public, AIA San Francisco strives to improve the quality of life in the Bay Area by promoting architecture and design. We further this goal through community involvement, education, advocacy, public outreach, member services, and professional excellence.