American Institute of Architects, San Francisco Chapter

Design Awards

View 2015 AIASF Design Award Winners

Recognizing achievement in a broad range of architectural work by members and nonmembers, AIA San Francisco’s Design Awards program celebrates the best in architecture, design, and sustainability in the Bay Area. This year, the Design Awards program has been restructured into 3 categories and 3 concentrations. By introducing concentrations we aim to give special acknowledgement to projects that further encompass the values of good design within the context of historic preservation, urban design, and social responsibility.

With this new format we hope to demonstrate that all of these disciplines explored collectively, rather than independently, strengthen the overall power and scope of architecture to help shape the built environment and enrich the human spirit.

In recognition of the importance of sustainable design, AIASF instituted a separate award category for energy and sustainability in 2003. In the last 12 years, the profession as a whole has transformed the way it designs, builds, and maintains buildings. The 2015 Design Awards program will incorporate the fulfillment of sustainable design principles into all categories. Sponsored by PG&E Pacific Energy Center.

Design Awards Ceremony & Gala

April 29, 6:00 - 9:30 pm | St. Mary's Cathedral, 1111 Gough Street, San Francisco

Ceremony Emcee: Scott Wiener, San Francisco Board of Supervisors

5:30 pm Doors open

6:00 pm Ceremony will begin promptly. Reception to follow.

Thank you to Sonoma County and the 16 participating wineries for their generous support!

Bartholomew Park Winery | Bella Vineyards and Wine Caves | Cline Cellars | Jacuzzi Family Vineyards | Geyser Peak Winery | Highway 12 Vineyards & Winery | Landmark Vineyards | Martinelli Winery | Muscardini Cellars | Petroni Vineyards | Rodney Strong Vineyards | Stryker Sonoma Winery and Vineyards | Wilson Wineries | Soda Rock, Pezzi King | DeLorimier | St Anne's Crossing


Advance $65 AIA Members | $85 General Admission

At the Door $85 AIA Members + General Admission

*Winning projects will not be announced until the ceremony.

Design Awards Jury

Mimi I. Chen, AIA
Three Legged Pig Design

Laura Crescimano

Rick Diamond, PhD
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Benjamin Grant

Daniel Sundlin
BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group

Christopher Wasney, AIA
Cody Anderson Wasney Architects, Inc.


Have a question about your eligibility or the submission process? Email us.

Redeem IDP Credit Hours

California and National award programs

2015 Design Awards Partners

2015 Design Awards Sponsors

2015 Design Awards Media Sponsor

2015 Sustaining Sponsors